In partnership with CBSSports.com
Online Now 553
Online now 224 Record: 4850 (6/6/2012)
The home for discussion on USC athletics
FightOn247 message board for off topic posts
You have no favorite boards.
The most viewed topics.
The most replied to topics.
The most up-voted topics.
The most down-voted topics.
The most up-voted posters.
The most down-voted posters.
The most followed posters.
If I am not mistaken. Same with Garcia and shaw.
You are wrong IMO. Sheppard would be part of the 15.
Not sure about that either.
USC had EE space from the previous class and with Starr, Wilson, Wheeler and Shaw filled those spots.
They would count against both the 15 and the 75.
Gracia going to Florida
This. Just like Shaw did.
Shaw did NOT because he came this spring. 75 and under (and transfer limitations) start in Fall.
he would be apart of the 2012 class not the 15 for 2013. Its all moot, he's not going to be a Trojan
You're ignoring the first part of my post. I said "This."
What post was I referencing ? "They would count against both the 15 and the 75."
As in, "future players transferring" would count against both the 15 and the 75.
My first point was that Shepard would count against both the 15 and 75.
No one is debating that a transfer counts against the 75.
The debate is about whether a transfer counts against the 15 rides (25 in a normal year).
That leads to my second point.
Someone earlier in the thread said Shaw only counts against the roster total.
That's not true.
Shaw counted. He took one of the EE slots that was open from 2011.
Was it a 15/75 year ? No. That wasn't point. The point was that he is a counter.
Bottom line: transfers count against both the incoming class number (15/year for two more years) and against the roster total (75 for the next two years).
The idea that they only count against the roster total is an exercise in magical realism.
Good. The kid has serious red flags written all over him. USC doesn't need the drama.
Was he talking about Shep or the OT for Maryland?
im guessing Shepard since the post he responded to mentions Shepard and not Garcia
Ah, my bad, I got thrown off once the OT's name got thrown in there.
I would not be so sure about that!
We had this debate already a few months back. There seems to be some language in the NCAA bylaws that indicate a transfer from a four year institution to another 4 year institiution do not count as "Initial Counters" (I believe that is the language that is used).
meaning they count against the roster max, but not any annual limitation.
I'll see if I can dig up the thread that contains the quotes from the NCAA rulebook.
.................... 47 Bowl Appearances - 11 National Championships - 7 Heisman Trophy Winners ..................
That would be a really nice SEC type of loop hole if true.
247Sports In partnership with CBS Sports